Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Since the rise of industrialism, work culture across the globe has undergone a tremendous paradigm shift. In order to keep up with the changing pace, many people have immersed themselves solely in their work with a very little focus on leisure and recreational activities. This evolving work culture has definitely proven advantageous to some but it also has its downside. This essay will discuss both views and will subsequently try to explain why working long hours and leaving little time for leisure activities has significant disadvantages in the long run. The primary reason why people tend to work long hours is owing to the incredibly hectic work schedule in today’s fast paced world. Right from our childhood we have been conditioned to believe that working more translates to better rewards in the future. The truth in this belief is impeccable, working more not only pushes you in front of the average crowd but it also provides relief and a sense of security for the later years of your life. To name a few examples, world leaders like Narendra Modi or Satya Nadella have all mentioned that they work around 16- 18 hours a day and all of us are witness to the heights that these icons have achieved. Hence spending more time working and less time on leisure definitely gives you a boost but its not without consequences. While work is important for survival, leisure and recreation are equally important for mental and physical well-being. It is said that life is a marathon and not a sprint: living your life in a healthy manner requires that you focus equally on your work along with your mind and body. Evidence suggests that extended working hours are taking a huge toll on heath and wellness of people as they are unable to focus on themselves. Additionally, long working hours also distance a person from his/her family & friends as they are unable to indulge in bonding activities which are essential for one’s happiness. Eventually in the long run, we notice the changes in their personalities which boils down to loneliness and a multitude of health problems. In conclusion, spending little time for leisure does come with a huge tradeoff which is not sustainable in the long run. Eventually a burnout is on the cards if too much importance and time is given to work. People who want to lead a healthy life, where they are able to reap the benefits of their work, should be focussed on balancing their work with suitable recreation from time to time.