many people take a gap year after graduation. ehat is the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Today, we see many graduates taking a year-off right after school graduation to travel and get a work experience. There are several both positive and negative effects of this tendency. With respect to downsides, first and foremost, a student taking a gap year, as is commonly believed, could lose an academic momentum, since having started working or traveling, a person is seen to lose interest in carrying on education and getting a master degree at a prestigious seat of learning. Additionally, if a student decides to take a year-off in order to explore the world: travel and work, it requires him/her be financially secure. Lastly, social pressure from people surrounding us may negatively influence our mental well-being, listening to criticism and judgment of spending time in vain and not being able to start working at the same time as our peers not taking a gap year. On the other hand, there are numerous definite edges of taking a year-off after senior years of school. First of all, having the chance to recharge your battery after exhausting last years of studying in high school full of exams helps us understand the value of education. Moreover, a gap year provides more time for students to figure out their priorities in life and change perspectives in order to make a conscious decision, having seen the real world and acquiring a practical experience of work. Also, although this period of time may be expensive, especially if one travels, a person can become financially and emotionally independent from his/her parents. To sum up, the trend of making a rest lasting a year after school graduation is quite popular and has both pros and cons.