Many people spend a large amount of their free time playing computer games.

There is no doubt that the last decade has seen more technology advances than the previous years, that there has been important innovations and people spend a large amount of their leisure time playing on the computer. The most commonly cited reasons for this are, for example, that computer games evolved, and everyone can have conversations as it is not an isolating activity anymore, that e-games exist for adults and children, and that in many places weather conditions promotes staying indoors and play. However, spending an important amount of free time in videogames it is certainly not a positive hobby. Nowadays, the industry has developed a considerable variety of games. An activity that was originally destined for kids and adolescents has now immerse in adult lives too. Moreover, gaming used to be a solitary activity but now technology allows users to interact, meet and establish conversations whilst playing, leading many people to lean towards virtual bonds from the comfort of their homes. In addition, those who live in places where extreme temperatures hit the cities, games are considered a good entertainment option. And how does this impact in society? Certainly, playing on the computer for a large amount of time is not a good thing as it is a sedentary activity. Hence, health problems may occur in consequence. For example, weight gain followed by high blood pressure and atherosclerosis. Moreover, virtual bonds with others can not be compared to real encounters with friends, family, and partners. Therefore, playing virtually cannot nearly be considered a healthy social activity. In conclusion, this growth pattern comes together with lack of exercise, health concerns and lack of sociability. Everyone should reconsider how many hours they spend in front of a screen, and instead endeavour to replace it with outdoor or cultural activities to enrichen the mind.