Many people spend a large amount of their free time playing computer games. What might be the reasons for this? Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

There is no doubt that the last decade has seen more technology advances than the previous years, there has been important innovations and people spend a large amount of their leisure time playing on the computer. The most commonly cited reasons for this are, for example, that computer games evolved, and people can have conversations as it is not an isolating activity anymore, that e-games exist for adults and children, and that in many places around the world weather conditions encourage people to stay indoors and play. However, people spending an important amount of their free time playing videogames it is certainly not a positive hobby. Nowadays, the gaming industry has developed a considerable variety of games. An activity that was originally destined for kids and adolescents has now immerse in adult lives too, leading many grownups to destine remarkable hours of their days playing. Moreover, gaming used to be a solitary activity. However, technology permitted people to interact, meet and establish conversations whilst playing, leading many people to lean towards virtual bonds from the comfort of their homes. In addition, people who live in places where extreme temperatures hit the cities, games are considered a good entertainment option. And how does this impact in society? Certainly, playing on the computer for a large amount of time is not a good thing. Videogaming is a sedentary activity and hence, health problems may occur in consequence. For example, weight gain followed by high blood pressure and atherosclerosis secondary to spending huge amount of time seated playing computer games. Moreover, virtual bonds with others can not be compared to real encounters with friends, family, and partners. Therefore, playing virtually cannot nearly be considered a healthy social activity. In conclusion, this growth pattern comes together with lack of exercise, health concerns and lack of sociability. Therefore, people of all ages should reconsider how many hours they spend in front of a screen, and instead spend most of that time in outdoor or cultural activities to enrichen their minds.