Many people say that the only way to guarantee a good job is to complete a course of university education. Others claim that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Never before have so many people studied in Germany as this year. They promise themselves a better future and a good employment after graduating from university. On contrary, others mention that experiences are more important than a bachelors´ degree and thus, these people should, instead of studying, work right after school. In some areas, such as the medical one, tertiary education is a requirement to get a job. Nobody becomes a doctor without studying medicine and spending a certain amount of time in the hospital afterwards. However, there are some jobs, in which it is not necessary to finish a study but beneficial. For instance, if you like to work as a secretary. You could either study or just do an apprenticeship. Mostly, people with tertiary have a deeper insight in this topic and thus, are more competitive towards people with an apprenticeship. On contrary, people could mention, that experience is more important than specific knowledge. For instance, a masters´ degree in Germany takes at least 5 years. In this period, the other applicant can achieve company specific knowledge, which is worthier than theoretical knowledge. For instance, if someone works as a chemical assistance, knowing how to handle is more crucial than knowing some theoretical background, which is not necessary for his actual work. To conclude, it cannot be said in general that one must study or do an apprenticeship. This totally depend on the planned occupation and as well on the personal attitude. For me, going to university was the right decision, regardless the job prospects, but for some people, working with their hands instead of their brain is the only right way. Total Words: 275