Many people said that raising the lowest legal age for driving a car is the most effective way to prevent accidents.

Many people said that raising the lowest legal age for driving a car is the most effective way to prevent accidents. While I agree that driving age makes a significant contribution to reducing road accidents, I strongly believe that other factors like focusing on safer roads through improved urban planning are equally important. On the one hand, I agree that increasing the minimum driving age would decrease deaths and injuries. Youngsters tend to break the rules and get involved in accidents because of the lack of responsibility, maturity, experience and alcohol abuse. Therefore, the older they are, the more experience they gain. Clearly, older drivers find a solution to dangerous and unpredictable situations more quickly and handle the alcohol while driving than younger ones. If a person crosses the road suddenly, for example, younger drivers might be frightened and panic, older drivers might handle this situation instead of stress hopefully. Therefore, the awareness of the driving age is important. Nevertheless, I believe that there are better measures to maintain road safety. Firstly, the government should encourage commuters to use public transports instead of private ones in order to reduce the level of traffic. Secondly, all the accidents are related to how the roads have been planned. Take an example of a country which has one of the lowest accident rates, the roads are constructed almost one-way street. As a result, drivers are likely to obey the law and car accidents decrease. Finally, the authorities should invest more money in improving transportation infrastructures with a view to creating better conditions for drivers. To sum up, although restricting the number of people who can drive by their age, it is more important that governments should be funded in road safety schemes.