Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

Daily activities such as socializing, banking, and even shopping are nowadays becoming increasingly popular to be done online. Because of convenience, most people choose to sign up to online tools and services even though they are required to provide their sensitive information during the process. Although this poses security risks, I believe that using online tools and services are very beneficial to us. Putting personal data online will always pose a security risk. Cyber criminals can exploit one's personal information once they gain access to it. For example, a hacker can use the information available from a person's social media account to answer security questions asked during login to online banking. As a result, this person's bank account can be compromised without knowing it until it is too late. These security risks have always been known to be affiliated when uploading personal data online. On the other hand, there are undeniably numerous benefits of using online tools as compared to doing its traditional counterparts. It is conveniently easy to transact businesses using online banking instead of physically going to a bank and do business there. As compared to the traditional text messaging and sending mails, people nowadays have been closely connected because of social media platforms which provides free messaging services for everyone. Online shopping also helps sellers save money from renting a physical store while being able to cater to a wider set of customers who can be anywhere within the country. These benefits surely outweigh the affiliated security risks which can be prevented by following data security measurements when using online tools. In conclusion, although there is a security risk involved when people provide sensitive data online, I believe that there are far more benefits in using online tools and services. People will just have to be extra cautious when providing sensitive data to avoid being exploited by cyber criminals.