Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number, and so on) for purposes such as signing up for social networks or online banking. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advent of software technologies has helped many individuals to save ample time while accessing to their account or making any online transaction. Giving access to confidential information for the purpose of saving time while logging in has became very common. I believe that the negative point such as data theft, does not the outweighs the various positive points one can experience, such as ease of use and time saving while providing the personal data online. Various online platforms which require login for access, have the feature of auto sign-in which has proved to be a great time saver. Various personal information such as personal telephone address and date of birth are required at the first sign up, and then the website eventually saves the information for future. Various online banking transactions require many personal information such as bank account details, bank IFSC code, etc for transfer of funds, which takes plenty of time and often while submitting these data, session time-out is very normal. For these scenarios having already given access to the required information to the platform saves time and avoids the chances of transaction getting failed. On the contrary data theft and hacking is very common these days which makes our online data vulnerable. The data which we save online, is managed by a third-party server and we may be unaware of the security measures followed by them to preserve our data. Recent cases of Twitter accounts of various celebrities getting hacked is an example of what could happen if our data is not secured. Moreover, many job portals where we share our email id and personal phone number, share the data to consultants to connect with us and there are high chances of data being leaked from the consultant’s data base. In conclusion, I believe although there are many demerits for saving the data online such as data theft and hacking but the positives of ease of user experience and time saving cannot be ignored and overall, it’s a positive change.