Many people nowadays tend to marry and have children in their thirties rather than at a younger age. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent years, we are witnessing a steady rise in the age to get married. A lot of individuals are postponing their marriages and child birth to their thirties rather than getting it done earlier. In this essay we will discuss both the sides of the argument. One of the reasons for people to delay marriages is because of career commitments. With increasing population we are witnessing a surge in competition in every job role which requires extra focus. For example, A few decades ago, there was lesser competition and people could easily find stable careers. However, in the 20th century, the work pressure has increased multi-fold and the salaries have stayed constant and it usually takes a minimum of 3 years to get promoted. As a result, they delay the decision as their primary focus is to earn well and get a better position to have a better standard of life. On the other hand, there are several people who want to enjoy their lives before walking down the aisle. For instance, a girl might want to enjoy her 20’s in exploring the world and pursuing her hobbies before getting married and have children. This is also considered to be the time for leading a relaxed life without any worries as it is a huge responsibility to manage a family and take care of their offspring. This delay helps them to pamper themselves and lead a casual life for a certain amount of time. In conclusion, despite delaying marriage and having children in the thirties is becoming a trend, we must take into consideration that this approach gives freedom to individuals to take decisions at their own pace.