Many people now leaving their countries to working or studying abroad. What is the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

International studying and working have become an increasingly popular trend due to global cooperation. While there are some demerits of this practice, its merits should be also taken into consideration. On the one hand, studying and working abroad can be problematic in some ways. A straightforward yet noticeable weakness is that international students may become their families’ financial burden. This is because studying abroad costs a considerable amount of money, which might create a huge pressure on their parents, who are the only income of the whole family. A further downside is a regional discrimination, which has not been solved completely by some governments. For example, most of my friends who are students and labourers in developed countries admit that they have difficulty getting on well with local people since some of them still have disguised assumptions about Asian people. On the other hand, overseas living also has a variety of advantages. One obvious strong point is that individuals who live in developed nations have a great chance to broaden their horizons. This can be explained that developed countries with cutting-edge technologies and outstanding infrastructure enable people to access the latest information and discover breakthroughs of modern science. This is hardly the consequence if they grow up and continue their careers in developing or undeveloped nations. Another noteworthy strength is the ideal environment to practice other languages, especially English. For instance, immersing ourselves in English speaking countries where most of the citizens communicate, discuss and work in this native language can help us gradually get familiar and become masters of this useful skill. In conclusion, weighing up two sides of this issue again, while international living can bring some drawbacks including financial hardship and regional discrimination, the benefits related to widening knowledge and improving native languages are impossible to ignore.