Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and Society to what extent do you agree

Social networking site for instance Facebook are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual, I agree that they have had a damaging effect on local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media has had for each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together through such sites as Facebook whereas before the development of technology and social networking sites, people rerely had the chance to meet or communicate with anyone outside of your immediate circle or community. Secondly Facebook also has social group which offer individuals a chance to meet and participate in discussions with people who share common interests. On the other hand, the effect that Facebook and other social networking sites have had on societies and local communities can only be seen as negative. Rather than individual people taking part in the local community, they are instead choosing to take more interest in people online. Consequently, the people within local communities are no longer forming close or supportive relationships. Furthermore, r society as a whole is becoming increasingly disjointed and fragmented as people spend more time online with people they have never met face to face and who they are unlikely to ever meet in the future. To conclude, although social networking sites have brought individuals closer together, they have not had the same effect on society for local communities. Local communities should do more to try and involve local people in local activities in order to promote the future of community life.