Many people believe that social networking sites are not good.

It is often argued that social networking sites, for instance, Facebook, have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and local communities. However, while I believe that social networking sites are mainly beneficial to individual people, I agree that they have had a detrimental effect on local communities. With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media has had on the individual, has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries bring together through these websites such as Facebook, whereas before the development of such sites, people rarely had the chance to meet and communicate. Secondly, these sites make platforms for people who share common interests so that they can actively engage in fruitful conversations. On the other hand, the existence of social sites has many negative impacts on local communities. Because of these sites, people would love to engage virtually rather than taking part in their communities actively. Consequently, the person within the local community is no longer forming close or supportive relationships. This fictional situation has resulted in a disjointed society where no human being is seen. There is no argument that no society can exist if people are not there. To conclude, I am convinced that social media sites are good for individual people, but it may be creating severe problems for the local communities.