Many people believe that modern music can have a negative impact on the young. Others believe the effect of modern music is positive.

Music has changed dramatically over the years and new types of music are constantly appearing. Many people feel that current popular styles, such as rap, are just noise and cannot be considered real music, unlike older styles, such as rock and jazz. Firstly, many people, especially those from older generations, feel that modern types of music can be more harmful than positive. They will say modern music is too simplistic and the song lyrics are potentially dangerous. They feel that rap and hip-hop often deal with dangerous issues such as gang violence or express antisocial views. It is a common opinion that this can be damaging for young people who listen to these songs. On the other hand, it is important that people are able to listen to the types of music that they prefer; you cannot control people’s tastes or opinions. For young people especially, popular music is an important aspect of identity, sharing an interest in music with their peers brings a sense of stability and belonging. These young people would argue that the lyrics to these songs reflect the modern reality and it is an important way of expressing their experiences. In conclusion, people will always prefer a certain type of music. People will always be unsure of new things, which they may not understand, and this can be the case with music. However, we cannot stop change and we should not try to, instead, we should encourage new styles of music as all music adds to the wealth of our culture.