Many People Believe That Media Coverage Of Celebrities Has A Negative Effect On Children

In today’s world, everybody is fascinated by the glamour and the people associated with it are idolized everywhere. Celebrities are given huge importance due to their social standing and the media cash in on their publicity. This essay will argue how media coverage of celebrities has adverse effects on the younger generation. In this era of social media, youngsters follow their favourite celebrities across various platforms and are influenced by them. These children look at celebrities as their role models and often attempt to adapt their lifestyles and habits. For instance, cosmetic surgeries have increased by 35% after the Kardashian sisters admitted to going under the knife. Girls, as young as 15 years, are flocking to surgery clinics to mimic the features of their favourite celebrities. Publicising such trends not only risks the health of youngsters, but also instils in them the idea that physical appearance is more important than character and personality. Another problem caused by this obsession with celebrities is that they make young people feel inferior. For example, celebrities are famous for their extravagant lifestyle. They flaunt a new dress and hairstyle every day. Some of them even have a new boyfriend or girlfriend every two weeks. If youngsters blindly follow this lifestyle of celebrities it can have a negative effect on their future. Media should keep a close check on what they broadcast to prevent the generation of tomorrow from getting brainwashed by the negative elements in the society. In a nut-shell, this essay completely agreed with the fact that media coverage of celebrities has negative effects on children. Indeed, it is important to restrict content that can harm children and parents should keep a close check on their kids idolise celebrities.