Many people believe that globalisation is leading to the culture of individual countries being under threat. What can be done to protect a society’s traditional values?

Family-owned businesses help drive both local and global economies. However, while employing family ensures that staff members are loyal and committed, it also has a number of drawbacks. (6 – 6. 5 introduction) The most significant benefit of running a family business is having members of staff that are more committed to the company than in non-family firms. As the overall needs of the family depend on the success of the business, employees are willing to sacrifice time and money to achieve this common goal. This is probably most evident when a firm is in its initial stages, with relatives being willing to work long hours for little or no pay. Another positive is the pre-existing trust between family members. Long-standing relationships mean the confidential information can be discussed freely and, managers are more likely to delegate tasks. Moreover, in difficult times, siblings, parents, or children can offer emotional support by giving advice. On the other hand, there are also disadvantages to working with family. When relatives are also colleagues, the line between home and work becomes blurred. As a result, people are more likely to overwork or bring their jobs home with them. Even worse, when professional conflicts arise in the office, it can be almost impossible for these not to spill over into personal relationships. Take, for example, the situation where a husband has to discipline a wife for poor workplace conduct, or a father has to sack a daughter. In both circumstances, life at home would become strained because of work. In fact, even small day-to-day conflicts, which are inevitable in any busy enterprise, could affect family dynamics, and this could be a high price to pay for many couples or relatives. To conclude, while family-run businesses benefit from employees with a personal investment in the company, they also have to deal with the downsides connected to the separation of work life and home life. Therefore, relatives should think carefully before setting up a family-owned operation.