Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

Examinations using pen and paper are commonly used for measuring learning in education systems. Exams are used to verify student competency in some skills and ready to continue the next step. Some people argue that this method is not a proper method to evaluate student achievement. In my point of view, the method of examinations should be reconsidered. Pen-paper examinations have advantages for students. There are different types of exam questions, for instance, multiple choices and essays. Hence, these kinds of exams can measure reasoning abilities. On the other hand, pen-paper exams have some drawbacks. Students can predict the question in examinations. As a consequence, students only know how to answer questions correctly without learning knowledge deeply. Additionally, some students have anxiety when they do exams. As a result, they can not answer clearly and do not achieve the best result. Moreover, these kinds of exams can not assess some skills, for example, communication, teamwork, and research skills. However, other methods for measuring learning in educations systems should be considered. Exams should give fair opportunities to students who have different types of skills. For example, some students can express their knowledge more clearly verbally than in writing. Furthermore, different types of assessment should be considered based on different types of skills. For instance, group projects can use as a solution to measure teamwork abilities. In conclusion, pen-paper examinations have roles in measuring learning educations. However, these kinds of methods have some drawbacks. Thus, other methods to assess educational achievement should be added. The methods should have fair opportunities for each student. Also, the methods should be corresponded by different types of skills.