Many people believe that family members have less communication with each other compared to the past.

Nowadays, it is generally believed that there is less interaction between parents and children than the past decade. I completely agree with this statement as here in what follows, I will elaborate on my reasons. One pivotal reason which could result in less intimacy and kindness between families is the advancement of technology. With the breakthroughs made in the world of media such as internet and social networks, many people tend to spend a large fraction of their time in virtual life rather than face-to-face communication. In addition, the high volume of internet use has caused new generations to face difficulties in social communication. One obvious example is in today’s world, many kids access the networks (e. g. , Facebook, Instagram, Whatsapp, etc. , ) by their personal gadgets such as tablets, smartphones and laptops. Also, the statistics show approximately 60% of teenagers immerse themselves in violent computer games which could bring about destructive effects on behaviour against their parents. Consequently, it has been observed that in such a modern world, many social programs and games are used frequently which could reduce the relationship between family members. Another point to consider is that in almost all societies, both parents find it necessary to work in order to make ends meet. In such cases, a large number of children are actually deprived of emotional supports from their loved ones. As an example, in our society, we normally see a lot of dual-earner families in which both men and women have to work to fulfil their needs. So, when they come back home after a hard-working day, they do not have ample time to spend with their kids. It could result in less interaction in families compared to previous years. To wrap it up, in my opinion, the communication between family members has decreased compared to few previous years, - due to the technology and parents’ busy lifestyles-, which is a sad thing. Having said that, there are some measures to reduce this issue which should never be overlooked.