Many people believe that all cities and towns should have large public spaces

With the acceleration of population growth, high-rise buildings are constantly mushrooming as opposed to the lack of public spaces in big cities. However, there is a school of thought that municipal governments should invest substantially in erecting vast outdoor public spaces, and I am in total agreement on this question for three main reasons. To begin with, large public spaces could help improve the quality of the environment. Because such places are generally filled with a large number of trees, which regulate air temperature and absorb atmospheric pollutants. According to a study conducted in Viet Nam, for every 10% increase in the number of parks and gardens, the level of air pollution will decrease by 20%. In this way, the contamination degree of air, water would be ameliorated. In addition, it is undeniable that public spaces are highly beneficial to the well-being of communities. There are many parks, gardens and squares that offer an abundance of freely accessible facilities which promote a positive change to people’s sedentary lifestyle. Public spaces in Hanoi, for example, typically provide city dwellers with free exercise equipments and fitness activities. As a result, residents in the vicinity of these places tend to exercise more regularly. Furthermore, ample public spaces might generate revenue and stimulate local economies. It is because constructing attractive outdoor public spaces would enhance the beauty of the city which is likely to draw attention from various tourists. Times Square in New York City, for example, attracts millions of visitors a year, and it is considered one of the major economic drivers for the city. Consequently, the shortage of city budget is highly likely to be solved. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that enormous public spaces bring considerable benefits to local communities. The authorities should be cognizant of these advantages and invest heavily in constructing outdoor public places.