Many people argue that advertisements are harmful, and they should be banned. Give reasons and your suggestions (government & authorities & policymakers, individuals, parents).

Advertising has become instrumental in this contemporary society, facilitating the delivery of products to consumers. However, the proliferation of advertisements has raised concerns over potential detrimental impacts on young viewers, including many uninitiated children. In my opinion, advertisements have almost always relied on a plethora of ethically questionable tactics to profit, and as such, this issue needs to be addressed by authorities. Firstly, the content of advertisements often distorts the reality of goods in an attempt to elevate sales. In particular (Specifically, Particularly), many companies misrepresent their merchandise (products, goods) by exaggerating other functionality, quality, and general effectiveness, owing to the lack of law recognition. As a result, many young and inexperienced audiences could be misled and purchase a substandard product. One of the most egregious strategies employed by advertisers is targeting children. In yet another effort to maximise revenues, some companies have even designed their promotional materials to appeal to the most vulnerable group: kids. For example, many have accused McDonald’s of using toys to attract children in order to sell its food, which potentially deleteriously impacts our young generation’s health. Therefore, it is evident that governments and parents are playing a pivotal role in remedying the detrimental repercussions of advertising. Specifically, while (whereas) governments should enforce strict policies to prevent corporations from negatively influencing uninitiated minds, parents could pay attention to what their children are watching. To illustrate, psychologists in some developing nations have taken responsibility to assist parents and children in how to filter toxic ads. In conclusion, advertising indeed could egregiously influence young people. Once again, it is the obligation (responsibility) of authorities and parents to eliminate its consequences to protect the young’s wellbeing.