MANY PEOPLE ARE WORKING LONGER HOURS. WHY IS THIS HAPPENING? WHAT PROBLEMS CAN THIS CAUSE TO PEOPLE?

One of the most striking features of these days is working longer hours. Responding to this statement, the essay will provide not only the principal cause of this phenomenon but also the main issue affecting people. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people are working more than before. First, people tend to work extra hours to receive a high income which will improve their life better. In fact, employees has worked not only eight hours a day but also remotely through applications such as Zoom, Skype and so on recently, which offers boundless opportunities to not only the manager’s expectation but also finish the workload for the day. Second, since living standards are increasing day by day, dwellers might face financial problems. Therefore, people who earn a high salary are more likely to provide quality education, healthcare, or other essential facilities to their family's demand. On the other hand, working hard during the long term without relaxation could lead to adverse physical and mental health problems. First, most workers have had a passive lifestyle and spent the majority of the day sitting at a desk, which causes common diseases in the part of offices, such as back pain, obesity, and weak resistance. Second, research has shown that the concentration of cortisol in the blood increases significantly in the brain, which causes diseases, such as depression and anxiety, and general unhappiness when they do not take a break. In conclusion, working overtime than standard hours of work is becoming a trend today. Although people try their best to have a better life, some serious consequences may be both psychological and physical implications. To address this issue, individuals should control their working time to balance work and healthy life effectively.