explain the two most important effects of social media on teenagers

Two most important effects of social media on teenagers are low academic achievement and health problems. The first one is that social media addicts may display poor academic performance in school. Teenagers who use social media excessively do not have adequate time to fulfill their assignments because they cannot get away from their electronic gadgets, such as mobile phones and tablets, which enable them to use social platforms. Moreover, they can prefer to spend their time on social networking websites, such as Instagram and Twitter, instead of listening to their teacher in the classroom. Due to loss of focus on lessons, they get low grades in exams. As a result of social media addiction, they may encounter educational failure. The second effect of social media on teenagers is that excessive use of social media leads to health problems. Teenagers who use social media too much go to bed late, and thus they cannot get enough sleep. Furthermore, if they persist in this way of life, they may face sleep problems, such as insomnia and sleep deprivation, which adversely affect their energy. For this reason, they are inclined to be impatient with their family or friends. Consequently, they can lose contact with people around them because of negative attitudes towards the social circle. In brief, using social media is responsible for academic underachievement and health issues.