It has become increasingly popular for people to eat pre-prepared food either out or at home. What are the advantages of eating in this way? What problems can it cause?

Over the last few years, eating pre-cooked or fast food has become increasingly common. The question is, is this actually a good idea? On the one hand, there are several reasons why we choose to eat pre-packaged and junk food. First and foremost, it is undeniably convenient. As time becomes ever more precious, we are prepared to sacrifice other things for more. Take for example the busy parent. Arriving at home after 8 or 9 hours of work after picking up children, cooking is suddenly an awful prospect. Who can deny the attraction of microwaving a pizza and calling it “dinner”? Secondly, fast food usually tastes incredible. Food companies spend millions on researching the perfect combination of chemicals, salts and flavours that make us want to consume their products. On the other hand, it can cause some problems too. The biggest issue is that consuming large amounts of pre-made food means that people are not consuming sufficient fruit, vegetables and other good foods. In addition, it typically leads to excessive sugar, fat, and salt consumption. Both of these impact our health in negative ways. A secondary concern is that cooking less, which is the natural result of the above habit, results in people forgetting how to cook, and therefore how to make good food choices. If this is what the parents do, their children will have even worse eating and dietary habits, which probably will lead to various long term health problems such as Type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, and even heart attacks. In conclusion, although eating pre-made or instant food can be detrimental to your health, it is an understandable choice. Therefore, I believe that eating pre-prepared food is totally acceptable as long as it is done in moderation and people maintain healthy cooking and eating habits.