Many people are too scared to leave their home because of a fear of crime. Some people think that with better government and law, the problem can be solved, however, others are of the opinion, that nothing can be done.

We are living in an era, post the world war, and although, several peace organizations have been build, the fear of crime has developed among people. To add to this, several terrorist activities, also with the other crimes, have added to this fear. Although, some people believe that there is no way out of this, others are still hopeful. In my opinion, nothing can be done alone, but surely with the combined efforts of people and government, we can improve on it. There are several reasons why people are skeptical of any improvement. Firstly, it is believed that fear is a state of mind which is perpetuated by the media. For example, we are often bombarded with negative news, the moment one opens the television or newspaper, you can find maximum of negative news. Secondly, an opinion has formed that the crime is because of the structural issues in the society which cannot be handled. Like, a person with no food or money is likely to steal. On the other hand, there are even people of the opinion that there is still hope. If only the government can increase the police in local communities and encourage more ‘neighbourhood watch’ schemes, there are chances of improving the situation. Even more, media must also be encouraged to present more positive stories in the news about how crime is being tackled rather than the focus on the negative. Overall, a wide opinion is formed that nothing can be done for the crime rates. However, there are some views that we can improve the situation. In my opinion, we can reduce fear by combined efforts of media, government and individuals.