many older people say that younger people have never had it so great, while younger people argue that it is harder that ever for them to survive in the modern world.

In the past few decades, due to the technological evolution, the standards of life, in developed countries, have dramatically increased. As a result, a lot of elderly people claim that we have an easier life than the one they had in their time, but younger people argue that, this is not the case. In my opinion, both statements are relatively true and in this essay I will explain why. Firstly, in older times, most jobs required your physical presence and muscular power. Due to this, individuals would be physically exerted, do the long labour hours, usually in big factories in the early 20th century. For example, from my own experience, my grandfather used to be a blue collar worker, and due to the immense amount of muscle pain he had from working all those years, he was forced to stay in bed from the age of 50. Finally, in this time period, public transport was limited to the interior of big cities, which revoked the opportunity for people living in rural areas finding a workspace. Nowadays, the difficulties for an individual to find a job are ever increasing and the consequences for his mental health could be catastrophic. In order to follow your desired career, you are required to accumulate years and years of studies, because of the specialisation that is needed. Consequently, the immense amount of studying, the increase tempo of everyday activity and the heavy workload may lead to leave a mental scar in a person’s life. To illustrate, a study carried out by the university of Cambridge, showed that, more than 40% of Londoners are mentally drained due to their work. On the other hand, everyday tasks for most people have become easier in contrast to the past due to the technological advancements that make travelling and communicating a lot easier. In conclusion, there are difficulties in all ages, regarding the daily chores and responsibilities. But it’s my firm belief that, every individual should be flexible in his time and exploit the advantages it has to offer.