Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening? What measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Every country’s criminal justice system forcefully confines an offender or criminal to a correctional facility as a punishment for the crime committed. However, it is observed that a large number of these criminals who serve their first prison sentence, leave prison only to reoffend. There are several contributing factors that leads to this. However, to address it, scrupulous measures can be taken by the government to ultimately solve this problem. Firstly, the reason for most first-time offenders committing crimes again once they have been released from prison is due to lack of rehabilitation whilst in prison. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to develop a deeper understanding of correct moral behaviour and instead they are mixed with other criminals, which only strengthens their criminal intentions. Secondly, repeat offending is also owing to the difficulty in finding employment after being released. As a result, many of them struggle financially which leads them back to committing a crime, robbery for instance, regardless of the consequences. There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to ensure that all criminals entering prison are given the opportunity to retrain with useful skills which will hopefully ensure them a job after they have served their sentence. By doing this, it will help them reintegrate back into society and give them some means of supporting themselves financially. Another method of dealing with criminals who reoffend is to have more supervision and checks in place when they are back in the society. This solution would hopefully prevent them from taking any chances and deter them from reoffending because they are being so closely watched. In conclusion, having training in prison and also close observation when first time offenders are released are effective in dealing with the issue. If governments implemented these solutions, crime figures would soon drop.