Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.

In this day and age overpopulation is a grave problem since new terrains are required for construction of residential areas. Although some local authorities are considering designating park territories with the hope of solving housing shortage, it will only bring forward more issues such as air pollution and respiratory diseases. At present, most major cities in the world are short of parks. As it is known, forests are the lungs of the Earth. In turn, parks are the lungs of the urban centres and if they were to be removed, it would be devastating for their citizens. Unfortunately, skyscrapers cannot provide fresh air. The remaining parks, however, are able to purify to a certain extent not only the environment but also the minds of the people who feel closer to nature being there. Naturally, some governments are smart and have already come up with a solution. With new, cutting-edge technologies in construction engineering nothing is impossible. As a result, brand-new neighbourhoods have been built with high-rise buildings which look like real gardens. Not only they were built up due to lack of land, but nature has been invited in the apartment blocks. Some even possess waterfalls. When there is a will, there is a way! To conclude, solving a crisis which refers to habitation is not an easy task. However, I am convinced that providing accommodation should not be at the expense of the environment and destruction of parks as they play a vital role for the better health of the people.