Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the work force in many developed countries is more than 50% female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

Male employees are given preference in terms of filling high power executive positions like those of CEO and CFO in a corporation; despite the fact that almost half of the working population is female. Some people assert that a fixed number of these positions should be reserved for women; however, I partially agree with the statement and the following paragraphs will substantiate my view. To start with, gender equality is an ideology that essentially seeks to break limitations set by ancient stereotyping and to provide a society where opportunities of any genders are all equal. Men and women should have given the same chances as it avoids discrimination and creates a pleasant work environment. A quota for employing the women, if imposed will surely lead to more confident female community. Furthermore, it also brings a variety of benefits, for instance, varying the gender of the dominant class can offer companies diverse opinions and creative strategies for handling the challenges of the complicated economy. On the contrary, having the same number of men and women on all positions is simply unrealistic. A company should be free to appoint the best candidate for each position based on their qualifications, experience and skills, in order to contribute to the success of their business. In this way, both have same opportunities, and applicants know that they will be successful only if they work hard to achieve their goals. In addition, forcing companies to fulfill certain percentages will have adverse effect not only on the morale but the productivity of employees too. The goal of the company is to maximize its productivity therefore they must choose those who are able to demonstrate great adaptability from extensive knowledge in their field. To conclude, undeniably this practice will give women a platform to prove themselves. However, there should be other eligibility criteria in the selection process.