Increasing numbers of students are choosing to study abroad. To what extent does this trend benefit the students themselves and the countries involved? What are the drawbacks?

In the 21st century, it has become mandatory for students to achieve a high level professional expertise for the promise of stable income and luxurious lifestyle. Therefore, students tend to go abroad, especially from the developing countries, to continue their advance studies as they deem it more reliable than the native academic institutions. This trend has been increasing year by year and outcome can be listed below. By observation from our history, international studies has been long-standing past trend continuing from 18 century, and has been very beneficial for the students and their homeland. Students, seeking to further progress in their respective field of interest, by enrolling in international university benefitted greatly by primarily receiving quality education, and secondly by getting international exposure of the track their field of interest is heading towards in the future. Moreover, countries in return benefitted from these foreign graduates knowledge and expertise by initiating developing programs utilizing their earned skill for its completion. It is reported that the Pakistan Nuclear Program was initiated by Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto, then Prime Minister, with the expertise of Adbul Salam, Nuclear Physicist educated from the University of Standford. There collaboration was the main reason that resulted in Pakistan having a nuclear energy and nuclear defence program which is still active today. Keeping aside its benefits, there are some drawbacks concerning both students and their countries. Firstly, students travelling internationally have to fund their education venture out of their own pocket, consequently draining the funds of student intended for their living expenses. Secondly, countries, mostly third world nations, do not intend to funds or subsidize these students expenses therefore leading to the loss of local talent as these students prefer to stay in foreign land than returning home. It has been reported that about 77% of the international graduates do not return home because of the fear of governmental policies, being jobless or wasting their knowledge due to lack of funding in the research and development field in their home town universities or facilities. Even though, there are negative consequences for students going overseas but, despite this, the positive outcomes outweigh them. I strongly feel that international studies candidates should be more and more monetarily funded and promoted by their governments, just as the future graduates should return back and serve their homeland in overcoming the problems or crisis prevalent upon her.