Many Governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

People have different views about how government should measure their countries progress. While economic progress is of course essential, I agree with those who believe that other measure of progress are just as important. There are three key reasons why economic growth is seen as a fundamental goal for countries. Firstly, a healthy economy results in job creation, a high level of employment, and better salaries for all citizens. Secondly, economic progress ensure that more money is available for government to spend on infrastructure and public services. For example, a government with higher revenues can invest in the country's transport network, its education system and its hospitals. Finally, a strong economy can help a country's standing on the global stage, in terms of its political influence and trading power. However, I would argue that various other forms of progress are just as significant as the economic factors mentioned above. In Particular, we should consider the are off social justice, human rights, equality and democracy itself. For example, the treatment of minority groups is often seem as a reflection of the moral standards and level of development of a society. perhaps another key consideration when judging the progress of a modern country should be how well that country protects the natural environment, and whether it is moving towards environmental sustainability. Alternatively, the success of a nation could be measured by looking at the health, well being and happiness of its residents. In conclusion, the economy is obviously a key marker of a country's success, but social, environmental and health criteria are equally significant.