Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Import and export of goods are the most vital part of the economy. Many individuals believe that relying on import goods instead of local produces, especially for food items affects locally produced food products and the economy. My opinion is the same and I think that consuming domestic farm foods has more advantages than disadvantages. I would like to discuss the same in this essay. They are many advantages to consider before relying on the imported goods. Firstly, food produced locally has abundant nutritional value required for the health benefit of the people, living in the same weather conditions. For example, seasonal fruits like citrus, oranges, guava, and watermelon helps us to gain immunity to fight vulnerable diseases due to weather changes. Secondly, when the farm produces are consumed by the local people, it benefits the farmer to attain great profits rather than for business who sell them overseas and gain profits. Lastly, the price of food products obtained locally is cheaper, when compared to the imported goods, which carry the burden of taxes imposed on them. However, they are a few disadvantages such as the yield of certain local crops is insufficient to meet the demands of the locality hence we need to depend on the imports for such products. Constantly favouring local products may reduce dependency on imported food products, due to which import of new varieties can be stopped. Thus, we might miss out on tasting new flavours. To conclude, from the above enlisted points it is evident that, positive aspects are more when we opt for purchasing local food products instead of imported ones. This, not only benefits us in terms of health, but also helps to profit the farming sector.