Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

The world has collectively observed a steep rise in garbage production in the last decade. In my opinion, massive industrialisation and urbanisation wave across the world is a key contributor to the same. I believe the governments need to perform a strong administrative role by implementing stricter penal measures upon non-compliance. As observed in last 5-10 years, global population has been rising at an enormous pace. This has led to a huge spike in commercial activities, albeit at the cost of environment. Triggered by the lack of employment opportunities, a vast section of young population started moving to industrialised sectors for jobs. Industrial sector, unaware of long term environmental impact, started dumping solid and liquid waste in vacant areas; leading to increased pollution levels globally. Governments can play a key role in bringing out strict policies which facilitate responsible growth strategy. Carbon-reduction targets can be introduced in sectors causing maximum environmental impact. Institutions adhering to the expected standards can be financially incentivised, while strict penalties can imposed on the defaulters. Plastic use has been recently observed to be a huge menace. Immediate steps will need to be taken by governments to curb the same. To conclude, each individual needs to play their part in betterment of environment by reducing the waste and garbage around them. It needs to be ensured that global development does not come at the cost of environment. Government needs to play a proactive role to implement the same by bringing out key strategic measures through policies.