Many‌ ‌foods‌ ‌are‌ ‌shipped‌ ‌from‌ ‌far‌ ‌away. ‌ ‌Some‌ ‌people‌ ‌think‌ ‌that‌ ‌eating‌ ‌ local‌ ‌foods‌ ‌is‌ ‌more‌ ‌environmentally‌ ‌and‌ ‌economically. ‌ ‌ ‌ Do‌ ‌you‌ ‌think‌ ‌the‌ ‌advantages‌ ‌outweigh‌ ‌its‌ ‌disadvantages?

The shipping of foods from other cities or countries may indeed have an adverse impact on locally produced food in this modern world of aggressive competition. However, the latter, in my opinion, obviously offers more merits than demerits. On the one hand, the consumption of local food might have certain drawbacks, and one of them is the lack of diversity or exotic taste. Without access to strange food from far away, people in Vietnam today, for example, would feel fed up with a limited number of food choices or would never have a chance to try, and probably enjoy, the taste of the similar type of food which is imported from other countries, such as Kobe beef from Japan. On the other hand, compared with food transported from other regions, eating food produced locally is significantly more beneficial. From an economic point of view, local food does not involve excessive transportation, leading to the highest and higher cost, especially increasing fuel prices. This is associated with less damaging effects on the environment related to the shipping of food products by plane from aboard. Additionally, in terms of education, consuming local food helps promote natural patriotism among young generations, orienting them towards preserving and developing the sense of using indigenous products. In today’s world of globalization, the effort to consume local food is thus playing an indispensable role in maintaining the identity of each local culture. In conclusion, the downside of eating locally produced food is outweighed by its upside. This is, in fact, true from economic, environmental, and educational viewpoints.