Many ex-prisoners commit crimes after they leave the prison. What are the reasons? What can be done to solve the problem?

In contemporary society, a large number of criminals are known to re-commit after having been released from jail. There are various reasons for this recidivism, however, a number of solutions can be mapped out to deal with the problem. It is common sense to say that returning to the path of crimes stems from several underlying factors. Firstly, the lack of education can lead them to become a recidivist. As few rehabilitation programes are applied in prison, the prisoners have no chance of retraining, learning new skills and correcting moral behaviour for their future. Secondly, people show their disapproval of those people commited a crime and that leads to the dificulty in finding employment after being released. It is an undeniable fact that most businesses have a tendency to avoid those who have criminal record. As a result, many of them cannot meet a need, which leads them back to crime. For the problem to be addressed, several proposals could be put forward. The first one is incorporating education into incarceration. The programs including vocational training or academic study opportunities must be implemented so that after getting released they can somehow earn their living. Secondly, the authorities should impose stricter sentences because it is believed that only the full weight of the law will act as a deterrent. Without receiving severe punishments, the lawbreakers would not be afraid and even commit more brutal crimes. In conclusion, several factors might lead to re-offending and appropriate steps need to be taken to retrieve the best outcome.