Many employees may work at home with the modern technology. Some people claim that it can benefit only the workers, and does not benefit employers at all.

Homeworking is becoming increasingly popular among workers, but does it offer any advantages to their employers as well? The truth is, businesses stand to benefit just as much from this new trend, in both operational and financial terms. Companies that allow teleworking can recruit talent from virtually anywhere in the world. The talent pool of a traditional brick-and-mortar business that relies on the physical presence of employees is limited to individuals living within a certain radius of their offices, a geographical restriction that can be overcome by remote working. Thus, a company based in, say, London could as easily employ experts from Paris, Hong Kong or Rio de Janeiro. Finding the right person for the right job is no longer a challenge when there is a global supply of skilled workers you can tap into, and so one of the greatest concerns of professional firms is eliminated. Having employees work from home can significantly cut operating costs as well, while boosting productivity at the same time. Office space is not cheap, especially in densely built-up commercial districts of metropolitan areas where most firms are located. Companies have long tried to make the best of their limited floor space by putting their staff in small cubicles, or operating desk-sharing schemes. These attempts have done more harm than good, as they weaken staff morale and loyalty. When employees can work from the comfort of their own homes, however, not only are they in truth paying for their own working space; they feel valued and at ease, which is known to improve performance by a significant margin. In short, eliminating the need for physical staff presence not only reduces operating costs of a business; it makes it easier to fill positions within the company by qualified professionals willing to work efficiently to fulfill their responsibilities. Most companies would hence be well-advised to encourage this form of teleworking.