Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In many educational systems, science is considered more important than literature and drama. This attitude drives mainly from the impact of science on humans’ lives. In my opinion, although science has led to many advancements, it should not be overvalued to cast a shadow over other art-related subjects which have always had an important role in people’s personality and emotions and ignoring these subjects would have negative consequences in peoples’ inner life. During past few decades, improvement in science has brought many advantages for mankind. It ranges from medical advancements to technological growth which all and all have made our lives healthier and easier. Many diseases once seemed incurable can simply be cured by taking medicine which has created based on scientific researches. Also, technology has favored us in many ways. For example, online communications with people who are thousands kilometer away have all been possible by the emergence of technology. Moreover, many physical demanding jobs are now done by machines or robots which have developed by advancement in engineering science. By taking all these benefits into consideration, it is reasonable that importance of science has increased. However, it is not justifiable that other art-related subjects are of less importance and all the attentions should be allocated to merely science. Some subjects like literature and drama are intertwined with humans’ emotion. In this time that technology and machinery life style has dominated us; we need art-related subjects more than any time to meet our soul and emotions’ needs. Because these subjects give us a chance to get rid of a fast-pace life and reflect on our life. Besides, by drama and literature people can gain valuable experiences of different lives and learn positive behavioral models by which they would be able to grow their personality. For example, understanding characters and roles through a drama allows people to relate better to different situations and they would be provided with an insight into their own problems to take a suitable approach towards them. So, if educational institutions turn their attentions to science only, after a while drama and literature would disappear and leave people in their own hectic life in which they will be far away from true values. To conclude, science has affected our lives positively and that is why it has been considered very important. However, subjects like literature and drama should not be disregarded because they hold a prominent role in human beings’ emotional and personal growth and without emotions we would live a machinery life filled with tension.