Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think this is good for the world of sport, while others think it is negative.

It has long been a matter of discussion whether sponsorship of various sports by most organizations as an advertisement campaign is a positive or negative development. There are strong arguments on both sides of the debate which I will explain in the upcoming paragraphs along with my opinion. On one hand, a section of the society claims that advertising through sports offers many benefits to both the organizations and the sports planners. Games such as cricket and football are not only popular among the youngsters, even elderly people also enjoy watching sports. Hence, sports act as one of the best platforms for the business owners to publicize their brands. Apart from this, sponsorship provides financial help to the organisers of such activities. Because of this, such events are organised with a better infrastructure and the participants are also offered good quality clothing and healthy diet with no extra costs. Therefore, sponsorship of sports by companies proves to be beneficial for them as well as event planners. On the other hand, others believe that the sports sponsored by the organizations are majorly focused on highlighting the features of their items than the performance of the players in the games. Moreover, sponsored activities are more likely to take unfair decisions. In these financed games, the winners are not declared on the basis of their performance, but it is in the hands of the financers to choose the winner according to their choice. As a result, participants, especially the best performers feel insulted and loose the confidence to play further in the future. In conclusion, I believe that subsidizing the sports by the corporations offers far more benefits than drawbacks as financial support is provided to the organisers by allowing companies to advertise their brands, although there should be a fair play for the participants of such activities.