Many cars nowadays are driven by computers, not people. Do you think the advantages of autonomous cars outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, thanks to the development of technology, it is the trend that computer rather than people will control the cars. From my perspective, the advantages that accompany this trend are more significant than the disadvantages. On the one hand, the drawbacks of driverless cars are varied. The first disadvantage is that these vehicles can be more vulnerable to the cyber threat. Once a hacker can get access to the car’s system, they might reprogram the car and control its operation, which can be a potential threat to drivers’ security. In addition, using self-driving cars could lead to the undesirable influence on the employment rate of commercial drivers. The implementation of self-driving vehicles will force these drivers out of work resulting in more social burden on the government. On the other hand, the fact that computers take control of the wheel could bring some merits. Firstly, autonomous cars could help to reduce the number of crashes which stem from human errors. Many car accidents are attributed to drivers’ errors such as impaired driving, drugged driving speeding and distraction; thus, the adoption of autonomous cars could eliminate accidents caused by these risky and dangerous behaviours. Secondly, self-driving cars can provide drivers with more pleasant driving experience. It is because in automated vehicles, occupants could pursue more productive or entertaining activities rather than focus on controlling their cars. Besides, if people are not occupied by driving cars, it might reduce the risk of backbone problems caused by maintaining the same sitting posture for too long. In conclusion, while driverless cars can bring about some drawbacks, I am convinced that its benefits are more significant.