Making sugary products more expensive

There are emerging health problems caused by consumption of food and drinks with high sugar content. Some believe that making these more expensive will encourage people to reduce intake of sugary treats. From my point of view, this action will not resolve the rising count of health-related concerns. Consumers’ buying behavior is not only influenced by how much they are willing to spend but also more importantly, on the perception of the need of a product. Food as a form of comfort and reward is a concept running in the society which is most frequently associated with those of high sugar levels, as seen with children being offered with candies, ice creams, fruit shakes and cakes being produced for almost every occasion. With the gaining popularity of coffee and tea shops, you wouldn’t be surprised to encounter a person carrying a cup of sweetly blended drink. As long as there is a justified reason in a person’s mind, such as considering this as a positive reinforcement, they will buy goods regardless of price or health benefits. Rather than manipulating the cost of commodities, focusing on health education and promotion of wellness will have a greater impact on the community’s attitude towards health. By supporting existing local health programs or creating one which emphasizes the importance of nutrition through community organized events, active involvement of individuals is encouraged thereby increasing awareness not only of health consequences but also of the significance of healthier food choices. Funding campaigns that gain empowerment for a healthier public will make more essential changes in health behavior rather than plainly addressing the easier method. To conclude, altering people’s stance on food selection and overall health is not determined by merely making adjustments on price point of certain types of goods. A broader scope of intervention is needed to establish better health choices that will be ingrained in the societal norm.