Making medical decisions based on genetic testing

The decision about whether to take a genetic test can be a difficult one. Genetic testing can bring great benefits, although there are also a number of possible risks and limitations. On the one hand, a genetic test can help diagnose a genetic condition. If find out that you are more likely to have any disease with this test, you can reduce the likelihood of this with regular treatments or start examinations to make this condition easier. For instance, after this test Angelina Jolie change her life style and decreace cancer's risk factor. On the other hand, taking a genetic test, waiting for the results, and then receiving them may cause a range of mixed emotions such as fear, anxiety or guilt. Even though a genetic test may confirm a diagnosis, there may be no intervention or treatment available. For some conditions, even though a changed gene or chromosome is found, it is not possible to tell how severely a person will be affected. To sum up, once you have the results of a genetic test there is no going back. That is why, it is important to ensure about the decision.