Making friends online - advantages and disadvantages

As the result of rapid technology development, more options to make friends online have emerged. While many people consider online interaction risky, I believe that advantages can be taken from such platforms as well. Making friends through chat rooms or social sites might be disadvantageous. First of all, internet users might be cheated miserably. Specifically, diverse cases of cyber-bullying or other crimes have been reported worldwide. For an instance, criminals may steal a person’s online account and use it to extort money from his or her relatives. Furthermore, spending too much time chatting online with strangers might be a huge loss of energy. Many teenagers are now being blamed to spend consecutive days on social media while dismissing their studies. However, it is undeniable that there are numerous advantages of making friends online. Firstly, it is probably more convenient and cost-effective than meeting someone in person. People can just stay at home and visit different websites to search for someone who suits them. Secondly, making friends online can be more comfortable than face-to-face as internet users might not know much about one’s private life in reality. Thus, people usually find it easier to chat with an online friend than direct meeting. Furthermore, having various friends online can significantly help to broaden a person’s knowledge because internet users can learn much about different countries and cultures by talking to an online friend living there. In conclusion, making online friends can be both advantageous and disadvantageous. The importance is that people should be aware of such pros and cons and be cautious in establishing an online relationship.