Should school add science of food subject?

Most of people believe that subject called "science of food and how to prepare it" should be added to the weekly schedule of the school, however, the other category of people, prefer to invest time by studying subjects that have more importance than the science of food. I concur with the food science category. The school doesn't actually increase amount of knowledge students have, students treat the information in the books as a way to succeed in the exam, after the exam, they will just erase everything they learned for the exam, due to there is no other way that the students can use these information in their lives. so adding food science subject can be helpful in the daily basis of the student life. The practical learning is much better than the casual learning, because the information you use in you're life is hard to get erased from your mind. So students are going to study about how to prepare their meals, while understanding how to analyze if the food was eatable or has harmful substances, in addition to that they will learn about nutrition facts that food has, etc. The science of food would be a good subject to study, as it can be useful for the students when they face life after high school, so a subject like that is building a person who can serve himself by his. To conclude, adding that subject will be useful for the student whether if it is was for his personality or his practical work skills.