Main reasons for environment problems

In recent times, the environmental problems around the world have increased at a rapid rate. While some argue that extinction of particular flora and fauna is the primary environmental problem, others argue that there are bigger problems in the environment. Although I agree that the extinction of wildlife and plants is a great threat, I do not think it is the primary environmental problem of our time. In my opinion, pollution and global warming are the most vital environmental problems of modern times. Firstly, those who say that extinction of particular species of plants and animals is the primary environmental problem argue that loss of such species brings about ecological imbalance which causes great harm to the world. When a single species ceases to exist all the beings dependent on that species will be affected as well, hence creating a domino effect. For instance, if all the lions in the world ceased to exist, the population of its prey, such as deers and buffalos would probably increase rapidly. This increase in herbivorous animals may result in problems such as overgrazing, thus decreasing the vegetation of an area and affecting the environment as a whole. However, others argue that problems like pollution and global warming are a greater threat to the environment. Due to overpopulation and human encroachment pollution is present everywhere. The air is polluted due to all the harmful gases released by factories and vehicles, the water is polluted due to the chemicals released by different laboratories and factories, and the land is polluted because of the continuous increase of human waste and lack of land management. Pollution has affected every aspect of the environment and will continue to do so if left unchecked. If the effect of pollution is not mitigated the earth may become an inhabitable planet, damaging the environment beyond repair. Furthermore, global warming is another major environmental problem. The temperature of the earth continues to increase due to human released gases such as carbon dioxide and chlorofluorocarbon. This has affected the landscape of various places causing icebergs in the Antarctic and the rest of the world melting faster than ever, consequently increasing the sea level. In conclusion, although extinction of wildlife and plants is a major environmental threat as the loss of a single species can affect the entire ecosystem, I believe that problems caused by pollution and global warming are greater because these problems affect all aspects of the environment. Countries and even continents could be damaged beyond repair because of pollution and global warming.