loss of particular species of plant and animals

Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. A significant number of environmental activists and wildlife experts have previously argued that restoring ecological balance is imminent and necessary in order to protect our environment. In recent years, various animal and plant species have become extinct due to over exploitation of forests and natural resources. In order to create awareness with respect to this pressing issue ecologists have classified animal species in multiple catagories such as threatned and endangered animals, based on research on the population and threat to such animals. For instance, poaching of lions in the grasslands of Africa has lead to massive reduction in their population due to which the ecological ‘predator- prey balance’ has been altered. Such alteration has led to a higher population of grass eating animals, due to which animals have to migrate to find new grasslands. Hence, it is argued that loss of particular plant and animal species has a significant impact on the already fragile ecology of our environment. However, in my informed opinion climate change is a more significant concern and immidiate and necessiary measures are required to slow down global warming. If larger enivromental concerns, as mentioned above go unchecked humanity will soon be facing a humanitarian crisis as population centers around the world will beocome inhabitable. For instance, experts suggest that Mumbai, the financial capital of India will face disastrous concequences if preventive and corrective steps are not undertaken to slow down rising water levels due to global warming. In conclusion, both loss of particular plants and animals as well as more important environmental issues will have a significant impact on our enviornment. In my opinion, the impact of loss of certain plants and animals will be far less in contrast to issues such as global warming and depletion of the ozone layer. However, impact on the ecological balance due to loss of plants and animlas cannot be ignored.