looking after the elderly

In recent years, ways of looking after the elderly has long been considered as a contentious problem due to the fact that there is an increase trend in sending elderly to care homes rather than taking care of them at home. This has sparked a heated debate in many modern families. Therefore, this essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from this tendency. One evident benefit is that the elders are able to live in a healthy and modern facilities as well as always have doctors and nurses to keep an eye on them. In nursing home, elderly are liveing under a modern condition which includes electrical & technological appliances that can benefit their life. For example, their rooms are well equipped with air conditioner along with spacious area around. Moreover, their health conditions are checked periodically by doctors and nurses. For instance, they are regularly reminded to take medicine on time, and are fed with healthy meals by carer. On the other hand, there are still some disadvantages of living in nursing homes. One of the most noticeable drawbacks is that the elder barely have time with their relatives and therefore, they have no love and care from their family. This is due to the fact that elderly will experience the rest of their life in care homes with strangers. Living there can help them to have a healthier life; however, they have no love. This lack of love can lead to several kinds of mental-related diseases including alzheimerAlzheimer’s disease or depression. As a consequence, many people think that it is better to take care of their grandparents at home. To sum up, although many elderly are sent to nursing home can provide them a better living condition along with health care services, it is also very important to consider their mental happiness.