long working hours and lack of free time

Due to working for many hours, a lot of people lack leisure time. This situation has impacts on these people’s lives, with more striking drawbacks than benefits which this essay will discuss. People working long hours can reap some rewards. Firstly, they can naturally augment their income. Therefore, their quality of life will be increased. For instance, these individuals can afford a better home or car, and if they have children, they could enroll them in better schools which charge high tuition fees where I live. Secondly, they will acquire more professional skills. Due to carrying out more tasks, they are likely to face more challenges and attempt to find solutions to them. For example, a psychologist who works even on weekends will probably deal with more unparalleled cases and in curing, he/she has to recourse to the references, which helps to increase his/her own knowledge. Nevertheless, overwork has a number of negative effects which are not negligible. Before all else, it could have some adverse effects on one’s social life. These people do not have time to visit their friends or family, which result in them missing family and friendly gatherings. This situation makes them gradually excluded from those events. This would in turn lead to isolation physiological and depression and loneliness in its wake. Additionally, people with long working hours are prone to health problems. To illustrate, a computer programmer who sits and looks at the monitor for many hours is susceptible poor eyesight and obesity, or a security guard who works two shifts would likely suffer from backache and sore knees. In fact, although they might make more money, they would have to spend part of it on treatment. In conclusion, although working for long hours could leads to more income together with proficiency and many people believe this is the only way to develop their professional skills, but social life deficiency and some physical and mental disease which comes with this issue hours are not insignificant. Therefore, I believe that minus points are more momentous and people should try to balance their business hours inin long term to keep themselves healthy.