Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

Taking up residence in a nation where your mother tongue is not understood by locals can trigger severe social and interpersonal issues. This essay totally agrees with this statement because settling down in a foreign country inevitably involves culture shock and communication problems. Foreigners are more likely to experience the bizarre norm and culture. It is difficult for them to acclimatise themselves to a new routine and food because what they had been doing for their life is thought as their normality until they immerse themselves in another nation. Hence, those people are inclined to feel lonely, isolated, and even experience discrimination. According to the survey by the Japanese government, 98 % of students who answered the questioner claimed they went through a certain degree of culture shock when they studied abroad. Furthermore, language barriers are one of the major matters when residing in another country. It is common for immigrants not to be able to understand what native speakers say and misunderstand their intentions. That is to say, they are more likely to take offence at what they want to convey and vice versa. The Japan Times reported that there were no people including tourists from Japan who never felt linguistic obstacles when vising one of the English speaking counties for the last decade. In conclusion, exposing yourself to a country where you need to voice your opinions in a second language for a long period of time brings about social and tangible problems because immigrants tend to feel overwhelmed by a new culture and have difficulty having a conversation with locals.