Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems

As people have started residing in a foreign country due to work and study-related commitments, they often face problems in relation to the language barrier which leads to one of the biggest social and practical challenges for people. I firmly agree with this view since I believe that this sometimes becomes severe that most individuals find it hard to fit in. Firstly, a foreign language creates social problem because it serves as a communication bridge between people. The person who does not understand the language most people use will likely to be isolated from any social circle. This can happen whether from neighborhood to working places. For example, I found it really difficult to communicate with my colleague when I had my internship in Miami. There was this time when a guest requested for a new pair of slippers and I informed it to the housekeeping department because they were in charged with that. I called the runner through radio and asked for an update with the items, and he responded using Spanish language. I had to call the department phone line to confirm as I did not understand what he was trying to tell me. Secondly, not knowing the local language makes it harder for some to do daily activities. They find it a challenge to look for directions, read important notices, order food from a menu, and most importantly manage landing on a job. It is natural for an employer to prefer hiring someone who can communicate with people of the country and this leads to an increasing rate of unemployment. A case in point would be in Abu Dhabi, where I applied for a Front Desk Agent position in one of the hotels there. I was told that the management was looking for an Arabic speaker, and sadly I could not speak Arabic at all. Although I am capable of doing the work, it was difficult for me to get my desired job as the language restricted my power to get hired. In conclusion, there are various hindrances people can face with inefficiencies for native tongue when they migrate to a foreign country. As a solution, people should place their best effort on learning the language most people use in particular place to understand and avoid cruel social unrest and practical problems.