Lectures were used to be a way to teach large number of students, but with the technology available for education, there is no longer justification for lectures. ?

Lectures which were once in a fashion to teach many students in a group would be replaced by latest innovations in technology. As a result, lectures can no longer be justified in the contemporary world. This essay completely disagrees with this view and I intend to justify it in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, the role of a lecture is not limited up to making data available for the students. They have a crucial role in making the students understand any topic. While taking classes for the pupils, a lecturer keeps every student's requirement in mind and modifies its difficulty level as per the aptitude of the students in the class. For instance, studies show that the pupils feel much easier to ask a doubt with their teachers as compared to clarifying it through an online search. Moreover, because of possible human to human interactions in a class, a teacher can find out where a student is facing a problem, which is impossible if this system is replaced by the available technology. On the contrary, a number of people are of the opinion that group teaching in lecture is old fashioned and it can not be justified in the current technological era. The Multitude of the website is available, where anyone can search for any material, whenever and wherever he/she wants. However, this logic is not reasonable to stop the traditional group teaching, as most of the people face difficulty in finding out a reliable source of information amongst the numerous online sources. For example, approximately 40% of the data available on Wikipedia is not factual and is based on the opinions of unknown persons. In addition to that, 30% of the available information on Google can not be trusted and lack proper references. To conclude, while looking superficially it indicates that the digital platforms have the capabilities to surpass the old traditional way of teaching, thorough examination rules out such possibilities as human to human interactions are not possible using a computer. Moreover, the material available online can not be trusted.