Learning English in school is often seem as more important than learning Local languages. if these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important to learn English for everyone? Should we try to ensure survival of local languages? If so, how?

Languages are the means to convey our knowledge, feelings and ideas. But when a language becomes the language of science and technology then it becomes necessary to learn that language in order to compete with the world. In my opinion, it is very important for everyone to learn English. The major reason for it is that English has become the language of science and technology. It has become the language of media. So, in order to compete with the world and learning from others, it is very important to learn English. But it is often seen that in third world countries especially Pakistan, India, Bangladesh etc learning English language has become more important than a local language. In these countries, if anyone is able to write and speak in English then he/she is seen as more respectable person. This situation is alarming for the survival of local languages. I think that we should take steps to ensure the survival of these local languages. It is because the local languages are part of our traditions. When a tradition dies, a nation dies. So, to keep a nation alive, traditions should be kept alive. So, immediate steps are required to be taken by us and the Government for the survival of local languages. In my opinion, Government should include local languages in the course. Government should also relax the students who opt to take some local language in the course. For example, he/she should be given some extra credits or marks. It will help students to learn local languages as well as English. Furthermore, there should be competitions in local languages like Essay writing competitions and speech competitions. In this way, local languages will be nourished and they will be kept alive.