“Learn, earn, return - three phases of life.

You acquire knowledge to become successful, Become authoritative to help people. ” - John C. Maxwell These 18 words changed my mindset 180 degrees. It has been exactly two years since I got introduced to John Maxwell’s work, and I still remember this first moment at school library. It had an eye-catching title - “How do successful people think”. Of course, dream of becoming successful allured me; moreover, I desired to read an English book, which was hard to get in our town. After I borrowed this, I remember happily coming back to home, and starting to read it by the window. I liked that it was well structured and easily read. I wanted to take maximum from it, and noted everything on my notebook. Honestly, it was something between dull and normal, but it lasted till I reached chapter 10, the last part. “Practice Unselfish Thinking” - that is what it is called. As the title says, there were explained the reasons of why we should stop being selfish, and start caring about others. If to compare two men, the first - ‘getter’, who only takes, and the second - ‘giver’, who shares, the last person is happier. Because, helping people usually brings a GREAT satisfaction. I (and every single one of us) used to experience this from time to time. However, personally, I never paid attention to those consecutive effects of helping, and never deepened into this topic. But thanks to this book, an enlightenment hit my brain. I understood that it is my obligation to make a contribution to the society. Either major, or minor changes, I want to make the world a happier place. Continuing to be selfish - equals status quo, and sadly a disaster for humanity. That’s why I do not want to regret when I look back in an old age, and ask myself “what good did I make for others? ”. But, to meet my goal and, especially, promote greater and widescale good deeds, I need to become rich and influential. For this, hard work and study are my duties!